site stats
Improving The Community One Project At A Time” PO Box 117 -  Alderson W Va.  24910 © Alderson Main Street 2014 SAVE THE BLUE CAMPAIGN OFF AND KICKING!   The Kickstarter campaign to raise $25,000 toward the funds needed for the second phase of stabilization and  restoration of the Blue Sulphur Spring pavilion got off to a great start during their “kick-off” party on Sunday, March 1  at the Greenbrier County Convention and Visitors Bureau in Lewisburg. Almost $3500 was pledged toward the campaign with 26 days to go.  Anyone can support the Blue by going to and making a pledge using  a credit card.  Many people did at the kick-off event.  Kickstarter is a crowd funding mechanism which uses the reach of the Internet to give donors a safe way to back a  project.  It is an all-or-nothing approach where the project receives no funds if the goal is not met.  Donors “pledge”  using their credit card and the amount is only deducted if the full amount of the goal is pledged.  Because the Greenbrier Historical Society is a 501 c 3 organization, pledges are deductible from federal taxes in  accordance with the law. Alex McLaughlin, Chair of the Friends of the Blue, said, “Historic preservation grabs folks in three ways. It grabs your  head when you understand the economic value, community development value, and intrinsic value of preserving our  past. It grabs your heart because it means so much to families and friends who grew up around and remember historic treasures. Finally, historic preservation grabs your whole being. Once that happens you are either in or out. We hope more and more people are in and support our campaign.”   PHOTO CAPTIONS:  (click on photos for larger view)  1.  Backers enjoy refreshments and conversation during the kick-off event 2.  A backer making a pledge on one of the CVB computers which were locked to the Kickstarter page for the duration of the             event. 3.  Chair of the Friends of the Blue, Alex McLaughlin addressing the crowd. 4.  The Friends of the Blue Committee (l to r) Skip Deegans; Cathy Bolt; Alex McLaughlin, Chair; Margaret Hambrick; and Irma  Smith Cadle